This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page | Your Cart | Sign In | Become a New Member
News & Press: Annual Conference

APMP Announces Annual Industry Awards Winners

Tuesday, June 4, 2013  
Share |

APMP Announces Annual Industry Awards Winners
Association Recognizes Outstanding Industry Achievements at the Second Annual Awards Celebration

Washington, DC, June 4, 2013APMP®, the global association of record for bid, proposal, business, capture and graphics professionals announced the recipients of its annual chapter awards, during the APMP Awards Celebration, at APMP’s Bid & Proposal Con 2013 conference, on May 30, 2013 in Atlanta, GA.

The following awards were judged by an independent panel of association industry executives with an expertise in chapter relations and performance. The judges reviewed chapter nominations and also granted awards based on merit, by reviewing APMP chapter performance through the years. Honorees of the APMP 2012 awards, honoring accomplishments from the past year, include:

  • APMP Chapter Programs/Special Events Award 2012, honoring the chapter that provides outstanding programming at regularly-scheduled chapter meetings and/or a special event, with value to its members, APMP International, and fellow chapters.
    Award Recipient: DACH Chapter
  • APMP Chapter Communications Award 2012, honoring the chapter that provides outstanding content and value in communications (newsletter, website, email blast, social media, or other communications means) to its members, APMP International, and fellow chapters.
    Award Recipient: APMP National Capital Area (NCA)
  • The Stephen P. Shipley Award for Chapter of the Year Award 2012, honoring the chapter that demonstrates excellence in chapter sustainment and development through support of APMP International initiatives, value to its members, and demonstrated accountability in effective chapter operations.
    Award Recipient: APMP UK

Two additional merit awards were granted, recognizing 2012 accomplishments. The Chapter that Sold the Most 2012 Corporate Memberships was awarded to the DACH Chapter, which sold more than five corporate memberships, with more than 100 members, in 2012. The Chapter with the Biggest 2012 Growth award was won by APMP UK, with an increase of 144 members in just six months.

"APMP’s UK and DACH chapters dominated this year’s awards, through proven performance in membership development and execution. They were extremely successful in meeting measured goals,” said Rick Harris, Executive Director, APMP. "This demonstrates that the need for industry best practices, education, networking opportunities and support is in demand in many geographic regions, making APMP a truly global organization.”

The recipient of the APMP Chapter Chair of the Year 2012, was selected by APMP’s Executive Committee and honored the individual who exemplified outstanding chapter leadership, resulting in significant accomplishments or growth. This year’s Chapter Chair of The Year recipient was unanimously selected: Nic Adams of the APMP UK Chapter.

A special award, the John Elder APMP Journal Award, formerly the APMP Insight Award and named after the former managing editor of the APMP Journal who passed away in August 2012, was awarded to
Chris Simmons for his article How to Create Winning Proposal Themes (Fall/Winter 2012 issue).

The 2013 APMP Fellows Award, a lifetime achievement award nominated by peers and honoring APMP members who have made significant contributions to the industry and APMP was granted to just two individuals this year: Chris Kaelin and Chris Simmons.

"The APMP Fellows Award is the Association’s most prestigious honor and recognizes the outstanding achievements of individuals throughout the previous year. This year APMP received sixteen nominations. The candidates were selected by an independent panel of judges who evaluated each candidate numerically, based on a number of defined criteria. Despite the number of candidates, only two nominees were selected to receive the APMP Fellows Award,” said Harris.

About APMP
The Association of Proposal Management Professionals® (APMP®) is the worldwide authority for professionals dedicated to the process of winning business through proposals, bids, capture, business development and presentations. APMP is a non-profit membership organization founded in August 1989 and began with 28 charter members. Today, the Association has more than 5,102 members and 25 active chapters, worldwide. Membership includes proposal and business development professionals who are engaged in a wide range of activities including business development and acquisition, proposal management, strategic planning, business capture, sales, competitive intelligence, writing, editing, graphic design, desktop publishing, document production, and proposal consulting. For more information, contact Patrice Scheyer, Director of Marketing and Communications, +1-703-281-1686 or