Accept Cookies?
Print Page | Your Cart | Sign In | Become a New Member
News & Press: Annual Conference

APMP Announces 2013 Chapter Award Winners, 2014 Class of Fellows

Friday, June 6, 2014  
Share |


Contact: Patrice Scheyer
Director of Marketing & Communications
Phone: +1-703-281-1686


APMP Announces 2013 Chapter Award Winners, 2014 Class of Fellows
Association Celebrates Outstanding Industry Achievements at the Third Annual Awards Celebration 

Washington, DC, June 6, 2014 APMP® chapter and industry leaders attended the largest-ever APMP Industry awards celebration in the association’s 25 year history. More than 480 people were there to celebrate the industry’s elite and recognize the 2013 awards honorees and 2014 Fellows at the Third Annual Awards Celebration at APMP’s Bid & Proposal Con 2014 in Chicago, IL, USA.

"APMP Chapter Awards are truly earned and are based on quantifiable metrics,” according to Rick Harris APMP Executive Director. "This year we had much closer competition than in past years because chapters are motivated to excel and be recognized by their association,” said Mr. Harris.

The majority of the APMP Awards are evaluated and judged by an independent APMP Awards Review Committee. The awards are assessed on the strength of the nominations, cited examples of measured accomplishments, and the success in delivering programs that surpass other chapters'/organizations' efforts.  Other APMP 2013 awards were given based on APMP chapter performance during the past year.

The APMP 2013 awards honorees include:

  • APMP Chapter Programs/Special Events Award 2013
    APMP UK Chapter
  • APMP Chapter Communications Award 2013
    APMP National Capital Area (NCA)
  • The Stephen P. Shipley Award for Chapter of the Year Award 2013
    APMP UK Chapter
  • APMP Chapter Chair of the Year 2013
    Steve Koger, APMP California
  • APMP Future Leader Award
    Constance Dyson, APMP NCA Chapter
  • John Elder APMP Journal Award, formerly the APMP Insight Award
    Mitchell Reed, CPP APMP, for his article Managing Rapid Response Proposals
    (Spring/Summer 2013 issue)
  • The Chapter that Sold the Most 2013 Corporate Memberships
    APMP UK Chapter
  • The Chapter with the Biggest 2013 Growth
    APMP UK Chapter

While the APMP UK earned four major awards this year, their performance marked a tremendous improvement from where they were just four years ago. The chapter was struggling to find membership growth, its revenues were dwindling, and it had not won any awards on the international level. The new APMP UK Board implemented a plan to grow the chapter on all three fronts and is now APMP’s largest chapter, an inspiration to all APMP chapters globally, no matter their size.

The 2014 APMP Fellows Award is APMP’s highest individual honor and a lifetime achievement award. Nominees are put forward by their industry peers.  The APMP Fellows Class of 2014 includes Vicki Griesinger, CP APMP of Microsoft, Melissa DeMaio, CP APMP of Ernst & Young and John Seaman, CF APMP of Selex ES.

"This year APMP received eighteen nominations for its Fellows Award. Each nomination was numerically evaluated by an independent panel of judges, based on defined criteria. The 2014 honorees earned notable accolades and are to be congratulated for their long-term contributions to the industry,” said Mr. Harris.

About APMP
 APMP® is the worldwide authority for professionals dedicated to the process of winning business through proposals, bids, capture, business development and presentations. APMP is a non-profit membership organization founded in August 1989 and began with 28 charter members. Today, the Association has more than 5,600 members and 25 active chapters worldwide. Membership includes proposal and business development professionals who are engaged in a wide range of activities including business development and acquisition, proposal management, strategic planning, business capture, sales, competitive intelligence, writing, editing, graphic design, desktop publishing, document production, and proposal consulting. For more information, contact Patrice Scheyer, Director of Marketing and Communications, +1-703-281-1686 or